By: Peter J. Lamont, Esq.
New Jersey Business and Personal Law AttorneyLaw Offices of Peter J. Lamont
One of the most frequently asked questions, involves New Jersey's Statute of Limitations. The purpose of this post is provide a general understanding of what statutes of limitations are and to provide the specific limitations on New Jersey actions.
Keep in mind that determining when a "cause of action" triggers the statute of limitations can be a complicated matter. If you believe that you have a claim, you should speak with an attorney as soon after you discover the possibility of the claim, in order to preserve your rights. As a general rule, the time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues". For example, in a typical motor vehicle accident, the date of the accident starts the statue of limitations running.
Statutes of limitations are often used by the defense as a why to dismiss lawsuits at their onset. If a plaintiff does not file his/her lawsuit within the statue of limitations, he/she will be forever barred from bringing the claim, even if the claim had merits.
Separately, please note that the statutes listed below apply to New Jersey only. Each state has different statutes of limitations. For example, in NJ you have 2 years (see to file a personal injury claim while in North Carolina you have 3 years (see, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16)).
Finally, please note that the below information is not a comprehensive list and that the laws may change at any time.